Set up thread

Mr Beef

Having read in the collision topic a piece by The Green Genie, I would like to start a new topic on setting up F1,s for rfactor. I like him often rely on setups from other drivers, but would like to know how to do my own.

As I am not really technicallly minded it would help greatly if the more experienced and knowledgeable people out there could post some instructions in laymans terms.

I often see articles saying adjust this to make car tighter or looser but havn't a clue what tighter or looser means.

I am not 100% sure what understeer and oversteer is, it is my understanding that understeer means you hit fence, and oversteer the rear end overtakes the front, forgive me if I'm wrong :rofl:

Another one wedge -14 to +14 :shrug: What does this affect.

Gear ratios, all I do is use the default and set the final gear so rev counter is just hitting the red line before corner is this right.

Springs, I have used setups where the LR spring is lower than the RR spring and also for the same track LR higher than the RR. Should the front springs be higer than the rear springs?

What effct do the tyre preasures have and which should be low and which should be high.

And I havn't a clue what bump and rebound do.

Like I have already said it would be very helpful if some of you in the know could post some help but please do it in easy to understand terms for those of us who are not in the know.

This mod is a dream for the average stockcar fan like myself who could never be in a position to race the real thing, but it does get very frustrating at times to watch the good drivers gliding round the track when im fighting my wheel to keep in a straight line and trying not to spin out. :rofl:

:2:

Steve

Guest Scrapman53