Oldest swinger in town?

BigAndyW

Ok, just for a bit of a laugh, and after the F2 chat the other night, let's see who's the oldest racing on here. I have no shame saying I'm 47 y.o., and happy to remember the heady days of going to now extinct tracks of Newton Aycliffe (thanks to free lifts from friend's grandad as I was a very poor student at college) and Hartlepool (lived there, climbed onto museum wall opposite turn 1 to see my first race) in the 80s.

I can remember the original Smith/Wainman battles with John Toulson calmly (well occasionally) plodding on behind. I followed/helped a young lad just starting in F2 called Neil Anderson 791 at the time, and looking at some of the historic F1 and F2 sites online brings back many happy memories of the racing. Now thinking of introducing my 6yo son to F2s at Barford as that is the closest (and let's face it only track in the North East), but money is still tight as I am a carer for my wife.

Anyway, I'm babbling. Am I the oldest here?

Big Andy

Before the demise of Heat, we had a couple of racers in their early 50's but since moving to rFactor, it has become a young mans sport!!!

Heat enables the "plug 'n' play" whereby it was simple to turn up and race, but now its more technical and the "older" generation just cannot cope!!!

I would guess that I am probably one of, if not the oldest drivers here (before your arrival) having been here for 10 years and was advanced in years when I started!! I shall be 43 in August.

But my lad is probably the youngest here, he turned 13 in April.

As for real life F1's, I have been going since I was born, and seen alot of things in my time, hence why I started my F1 Website, with the help of another ex.UK Dirter Kev149.

Its good to have another "Oldie" in the ranks, but beware you can't tell these young guns anything when it comes to racing these machines!!!!

Good Luck and hope you still racing when you celebrate your 50th!!!! :thumbup:

Edited by Mav

• 2 months later...