AGP Graphic Issue

MichaelG - 38

hello

I have just put in an AGP card, changed all the settings in bios etc..

the pc boots up fine and recognises the new graphics card, now the problem is.. when it goes past the XP loading screen and onto the log-on page,my screen goes completely black and computer dousn't do anything, i can hear things loading up and my monitor is still on green light and fully functional.....

so it dousn't seem like its a graphic card issue, otherwise pc woudn't boot it and monitor woudn't stay on green???  shrug.gif

are there any other things i could try?    Could it be a driver issue maybe??

This is my first time using an AGP card so maybe I missed summat in bios? I been using an SIS Pci card for last year, dunno how!!

btw just before i forget here are the motherboard and graphic card im using........L7VTA socket A motherboard       GeForce2 Mx200 64MB

cheers in advance guys  thumbs_up.gif

oh dear my fault..seems like the card does not support windows xp   blink.gif

Thanks alot for that link chris,would of been here all day otherwise    banghead2.gif

"Drivers:

Windows 9X / 98SE / ME / NT4.0 and Win2000 display drivers.

Supports DirectDraw, Direct3D, DirectVideo and ActiveX, OpenGL ICD for Win9x, ME, NT, Windows 2k and Linux "

thanks to other repliers aswell  thumbs_up.gif

Edited by MichaelG - 38

The card should be fine in XP. I have run a Riva TNT2 (who remembers those?) under XP without any problems.

You need to boot windows in safe mode

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?...kb;en-us;315222

And remove the old graphics card/device from the device manager.

Hopefully, you should then be able to restart the PC and get into windows (it will be in a low resolution now) and go through the "new hardware found" rigmarole and install the drivers.

For nvidia cards, you can download the drivers from nvidia.com - you get a bunch of options to choose from: Graphics Driver/Geforce and TNT2/Windows XP.